We are Texas Branch


The first meeting of the Texas Branch Animal Care Panel was held on May 1, 1963. There were 23 members and 5 guests in attendance. The agenda involved the formation of the Branch and election of Officers and Board Members.


Dr. G. M. Gowing, President;

Dr. A. I. Flowers, President-Elect;

Dr. M. B. Starnes, Secretary/ Treasurer.

Boards of Directors:

Dr. Dale Boyd, Dr. Sara E. Huggins, Dr. Thomas Wolfe, and Dr. J. D. McCrady.


Our Branch is quite strong due to the activity and support of its 550+ members. They are active at both the local and national levels. In fact, five recent presidents (Tom Darby, Jerry Fineg, Hugh Harroff, Mary Bean & George Irving) elected for National AALAS are from TEXAS!! We have thirteen major research and laboratory animal facilities represented in the branch, such as: MD Anderson Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine, The University of Texas Health Sciences Centers, The University of Texas Medical Branch, Texas Heart Institute, Texas A & M University, Texas Biomedical Research Institute, and the University of Texas in Austin. Our officers, board members and committee members are very dedicated and diligent, and are the backbone of the organization.

Texas Branch exists to promote technical excellence and best practices in animal care by providing educational venues for information exchange. 


Animal Technicians Rock!


©TBAALASLogo.gifTBAALAS Copyright 2019 TBAALAS.
Texas Branch is an independent Branch of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software